Reworking. Again.

I often say that one of my top reasons for homeschooling is the ability to change course midstream.  Over the past six years of homeschooling, I can’t think of a semester that hasn’t seen a mid-course correction or two.   Over these years, we’ve dropped more spelling programs that I can recall, several language arts curricula, a few science books, one history program, and even a math book (though Singapore has never fallen from favor).  

This year has been no exception.  As I posted a few weeks back, Latin is in the past for my older.  Literally.  I’ve recovered from the mini-guilt attack about allowing him to quit and continue to relish his more relaxed demeanor since dropping the class.  I’d like to report that he immediately threw himself into his other coursework, but that would be untrue.  At least we have some room in the schedule and less feeling of impending doom on his part.  That’s good stuff.  We have room to return to Discovering Music, our music history program that was bumped out a few months back.  While it’s intended for my older son’s study, the younger was tagging along for the lectures for the three chapters we completed in the fall, and I’m sure he’ll join the ride.  My older and younger will work through Philosophy for Kids with me a few mornings a week.  Since finishing Story of the World IV last spring, we’ve not had a read-aloud and discuss subject for the three of us to do together.  I miss that time, and my kids have voiced an interest in returning to that way of learning together.

My younger is picking up two Online G3 classes with Jaime Linehan Smith at the virtual helm:  Grammar Voyage/Caesar’s English II (using materials by Michael Clay Thompson, reviewed here) and History 2B (with Joy Hakim’s History of US books).  He’s also studying for the National Mythology Exam, a thoroughly enjoyable process for my living-in-the-past guy.  I’m not sure where we’ll fit in Hakim’s Story of Science, which we abandoned a third of the way into the first book in favor of more time with the Literary Lessons from Lord of the Rings.  Perhaps when that finishes, we’ll return to Hakim’s program.  Finally, my younger’s decided he wants to learn Greek.  Really, now.  Over the holidays, I acquired Greek Alphabet Code Cracker, Classical Academic Press publication which introduces the Greek alphabet and phonetic pronunciation.  He’s thrilled.   I’m tired just thinking about his selections (and they are his) for this winter and spring.

Mid-course corrections remain a major bonus for homeschoolers.  How do you adapt to poor curriculum fits?  What changes are you making for the coming year?  Do you find it difficult to change mid-course?  I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks, Suji, for sharing your mid-course corrections and ambivalence about these changes!

9 thoughts on “Reworking. Again.

  1. Lisa, don’t feel bad about Latin. Maybe your son returns to it later when he needs to learn judicial Latin, or medical Latin, or so on. I picked up a lot of Latin from my medical study years, from Bach, and so on. I don’t think it is wasted time. You just did put some seeds in his garden that might sleep for a good many years and all of the sudden you will see them sprout. So, let go the bad feeling, really.

    Do we change mid term? Yes! Mainly with Math because that is our least favourite subject. I discovered recently how my daughter is fueling herself with math ambition when I offer her 1 math-test per day. Unbelievable. Therefore I now teach Math by explaining the directions of math-tests and we sail so smoothly with this method. But I know it won’t last a whole year.

    Lisa, please, review your LOTR literary curriculum. I am about to order it blindly, does it go well with MCT? Is it aimed at Grade 4 and up?

    Thank you! Paula

  2. For us, it’s math programs. We have tried – and discarded – every math program we’ve encountered. Some multiple times. *sigh*

    I showed Claire the mytholgy exam info and the Greek book you linked to, and she’s excited about both. Looks like we’ll be trailing along behind you on those. This is HUGE for Claire – she willingly agreed to take a test! Percy Jackson is my BFF.

  3. We’re changing course with math. MEP wasn’t working for the kids, so we’re switching to Math Mammoth. One of the things I’ve observed is how easy it is for the kids to change course and how resistant I am about it sometimes.

    • It’s far harder on me when we change course. I become rather wed to the choices we so carefully made, even when they’re not working. I can also become attached to outcomes, but that’s another post.
      Sarah

  4. Hi Sarah,
    There is nothing new I am going to add….We always changed course, and I have accepted that to be part of the way life is with my children. We have dropped things, but I have blogged about it….As I said, I have taken the life with my children as they evolve…yes, i have had nightmares reg my kids’ future…meaning if they would ever be able to operate in the world as it is expected of them….I am hoping in time they will:))…

    This is coming from a mom who has gone through rigorous academic cycle of non-stop learning until she got the research degree….Until I hit grad school, learning was not something I enjoyed. Part of the reason is the inflexibility in my country’s education system..granted many of us turn out ok and such, but seriously the changing course and evolving with the changes are wonderful bonuses in homeschooling, that too available in the west only…I am here in India hearing from kids who are so jealous and longing to have those opportunities. I have a 30yr old who wishes she was homeschooled…and given the opportunity to try and give up on things…before she was fitted to something she had to make it work and still not happy with the outcome…

    .Pls do not worry about these changes, and there is nothing wrong with having to give up on something or redoing something later..Also, could it be the case that many of the things you are dropping are not catering to your child’s learning style …??? You are a great mom, and nothing you would do is going to hurt your child…I wanted you to know that…

    Good Luck
    And may the new year bring all the wonderful things for you all!!!
    -Subadra

  5. Thanks for the mention Sarah! All the courses/ materials you mentioned are on my favorites list too :). The changes I make are my strategy to cope with all the stuff I love (mua-ha-ha!). We may sign up for more online classes from the coming year onwards. It hasn’t worked well on average for kiddo, apart from Jaime’s NME course. But I may do it just so that I can remain as co-learner and not the person assigning work. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

